Home > Certification

CNA Certification Program

The CNA certification team has made the difficult decision to postpone the May 1-15, 2020, exam-writing window. This was not a decision that we made lightly but, given the current global COVID-19 pandemic, we feel it is the right thing to do.

Nurses who applied to write an exam in May will be able to write it in the fall window, which runs from October 15 to November 15, 2020.

“Certification really gives that extra knowledge that makes a difference in your nursing care.” Read what certified nurses say about the value of their credential.

Read our important dates to learn when you can apply for and renew your specialty certification. Promotional poster also available for download. If you’re ready to apply for or renew your certification, log in to MyCNA (formerly NurseONE). Before doing so, you may want to learn more about the application process or renewal requirements.

Missed your 2019 renewal? Please contact the certification team to discuss your options.

What is certification?

CNA certification is a nationally recognized nursing specialty credential for nurses.

To become certified, you must pass a rigorous computer-based exam. There are two exam windows annually (see important dates). Your exam preparation will be unique, depending on what you already know in your specialty. We offer many exam preparation resources, as do many nursing specialty associations.

If you become certified, your credential will be valid for a five-year term. At the end of five years, you can renew by submitting a record of continuous learning hours or rewriting the exam.

New exams in 2020

Starting in January, registered psychiatric nurses can apply to write their nursing specialty certification exams in gerontology as well as in psychiatric and mental health.

The first exam in medical-surgical nursing for licensed/registered practical nurses will take place during the October 15 – November 15 exam window.

Registered psychiatric and licensed/registered practical nurses: CNA membership is now available to you — visit our membership webpage for fees, benefits and instructions on how to join. Members receive a significant discount on their certification application.

Retired exams in 2019

For a certification exam to be feasible there needs to be enough nurses practising in the specialty. This ensures a minimum number of exam writers annually. Five certification exams – gastroenterology, neuroscience, orthopaedic, perianesthesia and rehabilitation – were considered no longer sustainable for CNA. After much consultation with the respective nursing specialty associations, CNA has decided to retire these exams effective November 2019.

Please note: Nurses certified in any of these five specialties can maintain their credential by renewing every five years through continuous learning only. Renewal by exam is no longer being offered.

Care to Be the Best

The first certification exam, offered in 1991, was in neuroscience nursing. Today, more than 16,000 nurses are CNA certified (see breakdown by specialty and province/territory).

Certified nurses are…

  • Recognized nationally for their practice excellence and commitment to lifelong learning
  • Valued by employers, because their certification demonstrates specialized knowledge and brings many benefits to organizations
  • Viewed as having enhanced professional credibility

Please note:

  • All certifications set to expire in 2020 are due to renew.
  • Certified nurses in gastroenterology, neuroscience, orthopaedic, perianesthesia or rehabilitation can maintain their credential by renewing through continuous learning only. Renewal by exam is no longer offered.