Membership Criteria

Membership Criteria

The Canadian Network of Nursing Specialties includes two types of members:

  1. Specialty practice member
  2. Special interest member

Specialty practice member

A specialty practice member is any national association founded in Canada whose majority of members are regulated nurses, and whose application has been approved by CNA.

Criteria to become a specialty practice member are as follows:

  • The association can show that 30 per cent or more of its membership consists of registered nurses, nurse practitioners, retired nurses, registered/licenced practical nurses, and/or registered psychiatric nurses, and that it encourages its membership base to become CNA members
  • The association has members in at least six provinces or territories
  • The association has bylaws (incorporated nationally)
  • The association’s bylaws provide for the election of officers and directors and independent policy-making
  • The association’s objectives, adopted by its members, are compatible with CNA’s corporate objectives
  • The association has current (reviewed every five years) national practice standards

Special interest member

A special interest member is any national association that is unable to meet all the criteria to become a specialty practice member, but whose application to be a special interest member is approved by CNA.

Application process

There are four steps to the application process:

  1. The association completes online affiliate membership application and provides required documentation
  2. The association completes specialty practice checklist
  3. CNA reviews and approves the application
  4. The association pays the membership fees

Once the application has been reviewed and approved by CNA, the organization will be informed of the decision. Once the organization is accepted as a member, it is required to pay the membership fee within 30 days.

Network membership fees

View membership options and pricing.