Home > Certification > Initial Certification > Certification Nursing Practice Specialties

Certification Nursing Practice Specialties

CNA offers certification to registered nurses and nurse practitioners in 22 nursing practice specialties. Starting in November 2019, we’ll offer certification to licensed/registered practical nurses in one specialty. Once certified, you can proudly use the credentials associated with your specialty after your name.

Cardiovascular CCN(C) ® Certified in Cardiovascular Nursing (C)anada
Community Health CCHN(C) ® Certified in Community Health Nursing (C)anada
Critical Care CNCC(C) ® Certified Nurse in Critical Care (C)anada
Critical Care Pediatrics CNCCP(C) ® Certified Nurse in Critical Care Pediatrics (C)anada
Emergency ENC(C) ® Emergency Nurse Certified (C)anada
Gastroenterology CGN(C) ® Certified in Gastroenterology Nursing (C)anada
for RNs and NPs
GNC(C) ® Gerontological Nurse Certified (C)anada
for licensed/registered practical nurses
GPNC(C) Gerontology Practical Nurse Certified(C)anada
Hospice Palliative Care CHPCN(C) ® Certified in Hospice Palliative Care Nursing (C)anada
Medical-Surgical CMSN(C) ® Certified in Medical-Surgical Nursing (C)anada
Neonatal CNeoN(C) Certified in Neonatal Nursing (C)anada
Nephrology CNeph(C) ® Certified in Nephrology (C)anada
Neuroscience CNN(C) ® Certified in Neuroscience Nursing (C)anada
Occupational Health COHN(C) ® Certified in Occupational Health Nursing (C)anada
Oncology CON(C) ® Certified in Oncology Nursing (C)anada
Orthopaedics ONC(C) ® Orthopaedic in Nursing Certified (C)anada
Pediatrics CpedN(C) Certified in Pediatric Nursing (C)anada
PeriAnesthesia PANC(C) ® PeriAnesthesia Nurse Certified (C)anada
Perinatal PNC(C) ® Perinatal Nurse Certified (C)anada
Perioperative CPN(C) ® Certified in Perioperative Nursing (C)anada
Psychiatric and Mental Health CPMHN(C) ® Certified in Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing (C)anada
Rehabilitation CRN(C) ® Certified in Rehabilitation Nursing (C)anada
Wound, Ostomy and Continence WOCC(C) ® Wound, Ostomy and Continence Certified (C)anada

® Registered trademarks of the Canadian Nurses Association.

There is a national association for each specialty, collectively forming part of CNA’s Canadian Network of Nursing Specialties. If you’re not already a member of your specialty association, learn more about how membership will benefit you professionally — especially if you are still considering certification.